On hearing Mariana Ramos in Cabo Verde

Songs of Travel

On hearing Mariana Ramos in Cabo Verde
(from “Songs of Cabo Verde”)

The song that she sings is the sweetly rolling break on the shore.
Her voice is the yellow heat and blue wind on my face.
It tugs at my heart
And tells me to stay
Or at least to return here once more.

The drummers still beat their urging count down to tomorrow.
Now distant thunderclouds still hold the air in a tight embrace.
Excited by the storm
My mind returns to stillness
But still the distant flashes of regret and sorrow.

She grabs me so suddenly and kisses me like we were always friends,
She tells me: no need to drown in lonely beauty’s ache.
There are no regrets
Just revelation and hope
In this place, where a lifetime never ends.

…There are no regrets
Just revelation and hope
In this place, where a lifetime never ends.

– 0 –

I wrote this after listening to this Cape Verde artist at the airport CD shop. I’d gone through a few CD’s which I was lukewarm about. As soon as I heard the first track I was hooked. At the risk of mixing the cultural influences, the verses in this piece follow the rhythm of Lambada by Kaoma – seemed to suit the rhythm for Cape Verde’s sun, rolling breaks and musical influences.  Check out these utube vids for Kaoma and Mariana Ramos.


Leave a Reply

