The party

Songs of the Everyday, Uncategorized

I went to a party
No one was there
Just distant nods
From I knew not where.
I asked my friend
Where are the rest?
He said: haven’t seen them
All dead, I would guess:
Some souls are too buried,
Some bodies too blessed,
We’ll see them anon
When we come to a rest.
And just as the faces
Begin to get clear
It was time for goodbyes
And we all disappear.

But my memories are warmed,
And my rest feels deserved,
And a new thread is formed,
And an old one conserved.
And these threads, among many,
Stir abandoned old parts
And direct and make steady
My flight through the dark.

– O –

Leave a Reply

