Young and beautiful to me

Songs of Love

When we were young and lost, but found ourselves
With one another, who could foresee?
You were my friend, yet I discovered
That you were beautiful to me.

When the spray and sun caressed our faces,
And in the wind your hair blew free,
Throughout the best of times you were,
Young and beautiful, with me.

And as we look ahead and maybe frown a little
At the uncharted lands and seas,
If I remain for you and you for me – then
Young and beautiful we’ll be.

When all is done, all things are said,
We watch the sun set in the sea,
You will remain forever, my friend,
Young and beautiful to me.

London, 3 March 2007

– 0 –

This is one of my earlier pieces written literally in minutes following one of those inspired moments. In many ways it remains unbeaten in its simplicity.

Leave a Reply

