Lines written on Francesca’s birthday (2)

Uncategorized

I watched the sun rise from the dunes
And sink beneath the yellow plains
Then home I came
And there I saw
Right there
A girl with sunkissed hair.

I looked but did not dare to touch,
You better touch while I’m still there
Thats what she said
And that was fair
So fair
The girl with sunkissed hair.

We said our vows and took our chances
Exchanging glances and whatever else we dared
And perfect gifts
Of boyish laughter
Just there
With sunshine in their hair.

Sometimes when I recall the dunes
Or sink beneath the yellow plains
I open up my eyes again
And see her there
Still there
My girl with the sunkissed hair.

Leave a Reply

