Let go

Songs of the Everyday

I have a window
But the frame is thick
And lets in little light.

Outside the window
I have concrete wall
And incongruous barbed wire.

And if I crane my neck
I can see a strip of sky
That has been grey too long

But on a good day it is blue
And later on makes orange love
To the tree beyond the wall.

I am chained and locked away
And watch the daily shadows
Speed across the concrete

Until I can escape up to the hills
Where along the concrete skies
It is my shadow’s turn.

Leave a Reply

