Morning glory

Songs of the Everyday

Outside there is a mist.
I’m hiding inside the duvet,
watching the little gauze curtain
swaying in the rising heat of the radiator.
I curl and uncurl my feet pleasurably.
You forget what a luxury a duvet is.
I know I need to get up and go out
into the mist to the hills which I can see now
only just through the bedroom window.
The light is coming up fast now
and soon it will be late.  So I must go
to where the worlds of night and day
collide and love and part in vapour.
With this small feat
I will begin my conquest.

Leave a Reply

